You are here: Home SENATE

    The Senate


    Hon. Ekwee David Ethuro

    Speaker of the Senate

    Hon. Senator Ekwee Ethuro is the Speaker of the Senate having been elected to this position on 28th March, 2013.  He is serving his fourth term as a Member of Parliament having previously been elected in 1997, 2002 and 2007 as a Member of Parliament for Turkana Central Constituency.  Sen. Ethuro served as a Temporary Deputy Speaker in the 9th Parliament and a Member of the Speaker’s Panel in the 10th Parliament.  Further, Sen. Ethuro was the Chairman of the Constituency Fund Committee, the Select Committee on Internally Displaced Persons, and Parliamentary Caucus on Population.  He also served as an Assistant Minister in the Ministry of Planning and National Development from 2005 to 2007 and an Assistant Minister in the Ministry of Labour and Human Resource Development from 1998 to 2002. He is a holder of a Msc in Agriculture and Economics and a Bachelor of Science in Agriculture from the University of Nairobi.


    Mr J M Nyegenye

    Clerk of the Senate

    Mr. Jeremiah Nyegenye is the pioneer Clerk of the Senate established under the Constitution of Kenya, 2010. Prior to his appointment to this position, Mr. Nyegenye was serving as the Director of Legal Services of the National Assembly of the then unicameral Parliament of Kenya.

    Read more