REPUBLIC OF KENYA



ELEVENTH PARLIAMENT

THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY – (FOURTH SESSION) No. 009

COMMUNICATION FROM THE CHAIR ON

APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO THE MEDIATION COMMITTEE ON THE CLIMATE CHANGE BILL (NATIONAL ASSEMBLY BILL NO. 01 OF 2014)

Hon. Members, this communication relates to business appearing under Order Number 11 in today's Order Paper. You will recall that on Wednesday, 24th February 2016, this House, while in the Committee of the Whole House rejected Senate amendments to Clauses 7(2)(g), 7(4) and 32 of the Climate Change Bill (National Assembly Bill No. 01 of 2014). Consequently, and in light of the decision that the House has just made, the Bill now stands committed to a Mediation Committee in accordance with Article 112(2)(b) of the Constitution.

In this regard, I have appointed the following Members to represent the National Assembly in the Mediation Committee:

- 1. The Hon. Amina Abdalla, MP;
- 2. The Hon. (Dr.) Wilbur Ottichilo, MP;
- 3. The Hon. Chachu Ganya, MP;
- 4. The Hon. Kathuri Murungi, MP; and
- 5. The Hon. Opiyo Wandayi, MP.

Hon. Members, it is advisable that, in attempting to develop an agreed version of the said Bill, the Committee confines itself to the contested Clauses.

I thank you.

THE HON. JUSTIN B.N. MUTURI, EGH, MP SPEAKER OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

1st March, 2016