

THE SENATE

PROGRAMME OF SENATE BUSINESS

WEEK COMMENCING TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 10, 2015

* 11TH PARLIAMENT * 3RD SESSION

Printed and Published by the Clerk of the Senate Parliament Buildings NAIROBI REF: R&BUS/COMM/WP/2015/VOL.3/ (1)

Clerk's Chambers
The Senate
Parliament Buildings
NAIROBI

9th February, 2015

REPUBLIC OF KENYA THE SENATE

PROGRAMME OF SENATE BUSINESS

FOR THE WEEK COMMENCING TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 10, 2015

TUESDAY: Communication from the Chair, Messages, Petitions, Papers, Notices of

10/02/2015 Motion, Statements and Motions

A. MOTION - (The Senate Majority Leader)

THAT, pursuant to Standing Order 176(1), the Senate approves the following Senators to be Members of the Rules and Business Committee:-

- 1. Sen. David Ekwee Ethuro Speaker of the Senate Chairperson
- 2. Sen.(Prof.) Kithure Kindiki Senate Majority Leader
- 3. Sen. Moses Masika Wetang'ula Senate Minority Leader
- 4. Sen. Beatrice Elachi Senate Majority Whip
- 5. Sen. Johnson Nduya Muthama Senate Minority Whip
- 6. Sen. Beth Mugo
- 7. Sen. Charles Keter
- 8. Sen. Kiraitu Murungi
- 9. Sen. (Prof.) John Lonyangapuo
- 10. Sen. James Orengo
- 11. Sen. Janet Ong'era
- 12. Sen. (Dr.) Agnes Zani

WEDNESDAY: Communication from the Chair, Messages, Petitions, Papers, Notices of 11/02/2015 Motion, Statements, Motions and Bills

A. PROCEDURAL MOTION - LIMITATION OF DEBATE ON MOTIONS

(The Senate Majority Leader)

THAT, pursuant to Standing Order 100 (1), the Senate resolves that debate on a Motion not sponsored by the Majority or Minority Party or a Committee shall be limited in the following manner:-

A maximum of three hours with not more than twenty minutes for the Mover, twenty minutes for the Majority Party Official Responder, twenty minutes for the Minority Party Official Responder and fifteen minutes for each other Senator speaking and that fifteen minutes before the time expires, the Mover shall be called upon to reply.

B. <u>PROCEDURAL MOTION</u> – <u>LIMITATION OF DEBATE ON</u> <u>ADJOURNMENT MOTION</u>

(The Senate Majority Leader)

THAT, notwithstanding the provisions of Standing Order 100 (4), the debate on any Motion for the adjournment of the Senate to a day other than the next normal sitting day in accordance with the calendar of the Senate shall be limited to a maximum of two hours with not more than fifteen minutes for each Senator speaking after which the Senate shall adjourn without question put;

Provided that when the period of recess proposed by any such Motion does not exceed nine calendar days, the debate shall be limited to a maximum of thirty (30) minutes, and shall be confined to the question of adjournment.

C. PROCEDURAL MOTION - LIMITATION OF DEBATE ON MOTION ON THE ADDRESS BY THE PRESIDENT

(The Senate Majority Leader)

THAT, pursuant to Standing Order 100 (1), the Senate resolves that the debate on the Motion on the Presidential Address shall be limited to a maximum of three sitting days with not more than fifteen minutes for each Senator speaking, excluding the Mover in moving and replying who shall be limited to thirty minutes in either case and that the Senate Majority Leader and the Senate Minority Leader shall be limited to thirty minutes each.

D. ** THE PUBLIC SERVICE (VALUES AND PRINCIPLES) BILL (NATIONAL ASSEMBLY BILL NO. 29 0F 2014)

(The Senate Majority Leader)

(First Reading)

E. ** THE ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT AND CO-ORDINATION (AMENDMENT) BILL (NATIONAL ASSEMBLY BILL NO. 31 OF 2014)

(The Senate Majority Leader)

(First Reading)

F. COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE

(i) ** THE FERTILIZERS AND ANIMAL FOODSTUFFS

(AMENDMENT) BILL (NATIONAL ASSEMBLY BILL NO. 36 OF 2013)

(The Senate Majority Leader)

(ii) ** THE STATUTE LAW (MISCELLANEOUS AMENDMENTS) (NO. 2) BILL (NATIONAL ASSEMBLY BILL NO. 33 OF 2013)

(The Senate Majority Leader)

G. * THE POTATO PRODUCE AND MARKETING BILL (SENATE BILL NO. 22 OF 2014)

(Sen. (Eng.) Karue Muriuki)

(Second Reading)

(Resumption of Debate interrupted on Thursday, 4th December, 2014)

H. *** THE NATURAL RESOURCES (BENEFIT SHARING) BILL (SENATE BILL NO. 34 OF 2014)

(Chairperson, Ad hoc Committee on Legislation on Royalties accruing from Natural Resources)

(Second Reading)

(Resumption of Debate interrupted on Thursday, 4th December, 2014)

I. ** THE MINING BILL, (NATIONAL ASSEMBLY BILL NO. 8 OF 2014)
(The Senate Majority Leader)

(Second Reading)

J. ** THE NATIONAL DROUGHT MANAGEMENT AUTHORITY BILL, (NATIONAL ASSEMBLY BILL NO. 42 OF 2013)

(The Senate Majority Leader)

(Second Reading)

K. * THE NATIONAL GOVERNMENT COORDINATION (AMENDMENT)
BILL (SENATE BILL NO. 30 OF 2014)

(Sen. (Prof.) John Lonyangapuo)

(Second Reading)

L. *** THE COUNTY EARLY CHILDHOOD EDUCATION BILL (SENATE BILL NO. 32 OF 2014)

(Sen. Daniel Karaba)

(Second Reading)

M. Any Other Business

THURSDAY: Communication from the Chair, Messages, Petitions, Papers, Notices of

12/02/2015 Motion, Statements, Motions and Bills

A. **MOTION** (The Senate Majority Leader)

THAT, pursuant to Standing Order Nos. 177 and 210, the Senate approves the following Senators nominated by the Rules and Business Committee to serve in the respective Sessional Committees as indicated below:-

a) COUNTY PUBLIC ACCOUNTS AND INVESTMENTS COMMITTEE

- 1. Sen. Murkomen Kipchumba
- 2. Sen. Wamatangi Kimani
- 3. Sen. Karue Muriuki
- 4. Sen. (Prof.) John Lonyangapuo
- 5. Sen. Wangari Martha
- 6. Sen. Khalwale Boni
- 7. Sen. Omar Hassan
- 8. Sen. Sitswila Wako Amos
- 9. Sen. Nyong'o Anyang'
- 10. Sen. Mong'are Okong'o Kennedy
- 11. Sen. (Dr.) Agnes Zani

b) **COMMITTEE ON DEVOLVED GOVERNMENT**

- 1. Sen. Murkomen Kipchumba
- 2. Sen. Lesuuda Naisula
- 3. Sen. Kerrow Billow
- 4. Sen. Beatrice Elachi
- 5. Sen. Stephen Ole Ntutu
- 6. Sen. Sitswila Wako Amos
- 7. Sen. Janet Ong'era
- 8. Sen. Omar Hassan
- 9. Sen. Tiole Ndiema Henry

c) **COMMITTEE ON IMPLEMENTATION**

- 1. Sen. Njoroge Paul
- 2. Sen. Bule A. Ali
- 3. Sen. Onchwang'i Hosea
- 4. Sen. Mbura Emma Getrude

- 5. Sen. Kariuki Godfrey Gitahi
- 6. Sen. Ali Hassan Abdirahman
- 7. Sen. James Orengo
- 8. Sen. Muthama Jonson
- 9. Sen. Nyongesa Kanainza Daisy

d) **COMMITTEE ON DELEGATED LEGISLATION**

- 1. Sen. Sang Stephen
- 2. Sen. Gwendo Joy
- 3. Sen. Chelule Liza
- 4. Sen. Mbura Emma Gertrude
- 5. Sen. Karaba Daniel
- 6. Sen. Boy Juma Boy
- 7. Sen. Sijeny Judith
- 8. Sen. Musila David
- 9. Sen. Omondi Godliver Nanjira

B. *** PUBLIC APPOINTMENTS (COUNTY ASSEMBLY APPROVAL) BILL, (SENATE BILL NO. 20 OF 2014)

(Chairperson of the Standing Committee on Labour and Social Welfare)

(Second Reading)

C. *** THE COUNTY ASSEMBLIES SERVICES BILL (SENATE BILL NO. 27 OF 2014)

(Chairperson of the Standing Committee on Legal Affairs and Human Rights)

(Second Reading)

D. * PARLIAMENTARY SERVICE COMMISSION (AMENDMENT) BILL, (SENATE BILL NO. 21 OF 2014)

(Sen. Kiraitu Murungi)

(Second Reading)

E. *** THE PUBLIC FUNDRAISING BILL, (SENATE BILL NO. 28 OF 2014)

(Chairperson of the Ad hoc committee on Legislation on Harambee)

(Second Reading)

F. *THE UNIVERSITIES (AMENDMENT) BILL, (SENATE BILL NO. 31 OF 2014)

(Sen. Halima Abdille)

(Second Reading)

G. ***THE COUNTY HALL OF FAME BILL (SENATE BILL NO. 33 OF 2014)

(Sen. Stephen Sang')

(Second Reading)

H. ** THE MINING BILL, (NATIONAL ASSEMBLY BILL NO. 8 OF 2014)

(The Senate Majority Leader)

(Second Reading)

I. Any Other Business

KEY

* * * *

- Denotes a Majority / Minority Party Bill

* * *

- Denotes a Committee Bill

* *

- Denotes a National Assembly Bill

*

- Denotes any other Bill