Eleventh Parliament (No.003)



Third Session (012)

REPUBLIC OF KENYA

ELEVENTH PARLIAMENT - (THIRD SESSION)

THE SENATE

ORDER PAPER

THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 12, 2015 AT 2.30 P.M

PRAYERS

- 1. Administration of Oath
- 2. Communication from the Chair
- 3. Messages
- 4. Petitions
- 5. Papers (As Listed in the Appendix)
- 6. Notices of Motion (As Listed in the Appendix)
- 7. Statements (As Listed in the Appendix)

8. *** THE REGISTRATION AND IDENTIFICATION OF PERSONS BILL (SENATE BILL NO. 39 OF 2014)

(Sen. Mohamed Yusuf Haji) (First Reading)

9. *** THE COUNTY GOVERNMENTS DISASTER MANAGEMENT BILL (SENATE BILL NO. 40 OF 2014) (Sen. Mohamed Yusuf Haji)

(First Reading)

10. *** THE REFUGEES BILL (SENATE BILL NO.41 OF 2014) (Sen. Mohamed Yusuf Haji)

(First Reading)

11. * THE OFFICE OF THE COUNTY PRINTER BILL (SENATE BILL NO. 42 OF 2014)

(Sen. Stephen Sang)

(First Reading)

...../Motion

12. MOTION - (The Senate Majority Leader)

THAT, pursuant to Standing Order Nos. 177 and 210, the Senate approves the following Senators nominated by the Rules and Business Committee to serve in the respective Sessional Committees as indicated below:-

A. COUNTY PUBLIC ACCOUNTS AND INVESTMENTS COMMITTEE

- 1. Sen. Murkomen Kipchumba
- 2. Sen. Wamatangi Kimani
- 3. Sen. Karue Muriuki
- 4. Sen. (Prof.) John Lonyangapuo
- 5. Sen. Wangari Martha
- 6. Sen. Khalwale Boni
- 7. Sen. Omar Hassan
- 8. Sen. Sitswila Wako Amos
- 9. Sen. Nyong'o Anyang'
- 10. Sen. Mong'are Okong'o Kennedy
- 11. Sen. (Dr.) Agnes Zani

B. COMMITTEE ON DEVOLVED GOVERNMENT

- 1. Sen. Murkomen Kipchumba
- 2. Sen. Lesuuda Naisula
- 3. Sen. Kerrow Billow
- 4. Sen. Beatrice Elachi
- 5. Sen. Stephen Ole Ntutu
- 6. Sen. Sitswila Wako Amos
- 7. Sen. Janet Ong'era
- 8. Sen. Omar Hassan
- 9. Sen. Tiole Ndiema Henry

C. COMMITTEE ON IMPLEMENTATION

- 1. Sen. Njoroge Paul
- 2. Sen. Bule A. Ali
- 3. Sen. Onchwang'i Hosea
- 4. Sen. Mbura Emma Gertrude
- 5. Sen. Kariuki Godfrey Gitahi
- 6. Sen. Ali Hassan Abdirahman
- 7. Sen. James Orengo
- 8. Sen. Muthama Johnson
- 9. Sen. Nyongesa Kanainza Daisy

D. COMMITTEE ON DELEGATED LEGISLATION

- 1. Sen. Sang Stephen
- 2. Sen. Gwendo Joy
- 3. Sen. Chelule Liza
- 4. Sen. Mbura Emma Gertrude

...../Motion

- 5. Sen. Karaba Daniel
- 6. Sen. Juma Boy Juma
- 7. Sen. Sijeny Judith
- 8. Sen. Musila David
- 9. Sen. Omondi Godliver Nanjira
- 13. <u>MOTION</u> (The Chairperson, Standing Committee on Finance, Commerce and Budget)

THAT, this House adopts the Report of the Standing Committee on Finance, Commerce and Budget on the Consideration of the Second Generation Criteria for Resource Allocation for 2015/16, 2016/17 and 2017/18 laid on the Table of the House on Wednesday,11th February, 2015.

14. *** THE NATURAL RESOURCES (BENEFIT SHARING) BILL (SENATE BILL NO. 34 OF 2014)

(Chairperson, *Ad hoc* Committee on Legislation on Royalties accruing from Natural Resources)

(Second Reading)

(Resumption of Debate interrupted on Thursday, 4th December, 2014)

15. ****** THE MINING BILL, (NATIONAL ASSEMBLY BILL NO. 8 OF 2014) (The Senate Majority Leader)

(Second Reading)

16. ** THE NATIONAL DROUGHT MANAGEMENT AUTHORITY BILL, (NATIONAL ASSEMBLY BILL NO. 42 OF 2013) (The Senate Majority Leader)

(Second Reading)

17. * THE NATIONAL GOVERNMENT COORDINATION (AMENDMENT) BILL (SENATE BILL NO. 30 OF 2014)

(Sen. (Prof.) John Lonyangapuo)

(Second Reading)

18. *** THE COUNTY EARLY CHILDHOOD EDUCATION BILL (SENATE BILL NO. 32 OF 2014) (Sen Dapiel Karaba)

(Sen. Daniel Karaba)

(Second Reading)

<u>KEY</u>

* * * *

Denotes a Majority /Minority Party Bill

* * *

- Denotes a Committee Bill
- Denotes a National Assembly Bill
- *
- Denotes any other Bill

...../Appendix

APPENDIX

1. <u>PAPER</u>

Business of the Senate for the coming week.

2. NOTICE OF MOTION - (Sen. Mutula Kilonzo Jnr.)

(Department of Interior and Coordination of National Government)

THAT, noting the constitutional role of the Senate in the protection of the interests of counties and their governments and in the implementation of the devolved system of Government pursuant to Article 96 of the Constitution; aware that the 47 counties are based on the delineation of administrative districts as created under the Provinces and Districts Act of 1992; further aware that there existed deep-rooted and historical boundary disputes between the districts which were inherited by the resultant counties; aware that there are existing boundary disputes between various counties, which raise questions on the exact boundaries between the counties; recognizing the provisions of Article 188 of the Constitution of Kenva that mandates Parliament to approve alteration of county boundaries on the recommendation of an independent commission set up for that purpose; the Senate urges the Sessional Committee on Devolved Government to initiate and prioritize the drafting of legislation within ninety days to provide for the establishment of an independent commission to inquire into, examine and identify the boundaries of counties, taking into account the criteria set out in Article 188 (2) of the Constitution and to recommend appropriate changes to Parliament so as to comprehensively deal and resolve the inter-county boundary disputes to enhance national cohesion and stability.

3. STATEMENT

The Senate Majority Leader to issue a statement on Business of the Senate for the coming week;
