REPUBLIC OF KENYA



ELEVENTH PARLIAMENT

THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY – (FOURTH SESSION)
No. 031

COMMUNICATION FROM THE CHAIR

ON REFERRAL OF THE WATER BILL (NATIONAL ASSEMBLY BILL NO. 07 OF 2014) TO A MEDIATION COMMITTEE

Hon. Members, you will recall that on Tuesday, 7th June 2016, this House considered Senate amendments to the Water Bill (National Assembly Bill No. 07 of 2014) in the Committee of the Whole House and agreed with the Senate on its amendments to several clauses of the Bill, save for the amendments to Clauses 2, 8, 8B, 30, 64, 75, 102, 114 and 115. Consequently, the Bill now stands referred to a Mediation Committee in accordance with Article 112(2)(b) of the Constitution.

In this regard, and in consultation with the Leadership of the Majority and Minority Parties in the House, I have appointed the following Members to represent the National Assembly in the Mediation Committee:

- 1. The Hon. Amina Abdalla, MP;
- 2. The Hon. Ejidius Njogu Barua, MP;
- 3. The Hon. Abdulaziz Ali Farah, MP;
- 4. The Hon. Andrew Mwadime, MP; and
- 5. The Hon. Ibren Nasra Ibrahim, MP.

Hon. Members, it is advisable that, in attempting to develop an agreed version of the said Bill as envisaged under Article 113 of the Constitution, the Mediation Committee confines itself to the Clauses contested by the two Houses and any other parts of the Bill that may require consequential consideration.

I thank you.

THE HON. JUSTIN B.N. MUTURI, EGH, MP SPEAKER OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

Wednesday, June 15, 2016