#### **Eleventh Parliament**

(No. 142)



Fourth Session Morning Sitting (1202)

#### **REPUBLIC OF KENYA**

#### **ELEVENTH PARLIAMENT - (FOURTH SESSION)**

THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

**VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS** 

# SPECIAL SITTING

#### TUESDAY, JANUARY 17, 2017 AT 9.30 A.M

- 1. The House assembled at thirty minutes past Nine O'clock
- 2. The Proceedings were opened with Prayer
- 3. **Presiding** the Speaker

The Speaker ordered that the Quorum bell rang for ten minutes.

(Quorum attained)

#### 4. PAPERS LAID

The following Papers were laid on the Table -

The Reports of the Departmental Committee on Justice and Legal Affairs on the vetting of:-

- (a) A Nominee as Chairperson of the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission (EACC); and
- (b) Nominees as Chairperson and Members of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC).

(Hon. Njoroge Baiya, Member, Departmental Committee on Justice and Legal Affairs)

(No. 142) (1203)

### 5. **NOTICES OF MOTION**

The following Notices of Motion were given:

i. THAT, this House adopts the Report of the Departmental Committee on Justice and Legal Affairs on the Vetting of nominee for appointment as Chairperson of the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission, laid on the Table of the House on Tuesday, 17<sup>th</sup> January 2017, and pursuant to the provisions of section 10 (3) of the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission Act, 2011, and section 8 of the Public Appointments (Parliamentary Approval) Act, 2011, approves the appointment of Archbishop (Rtd) Dr. Eliud Wabukala Wamukekhe as Chairperson of the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission.

- ii. THAT, this House adopts the Report of the Departmental Committee on Justice and Legal Affairs on the Vetting of nominees for appointment as Chairperson and Members of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission, laid on the Table of the House on Tuesday, 17<sup>th</sup> January 2017, and pursuant to the provisions of the First Schedule of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission Act, 2011 and section 8 of the Public Appointments (Parliamentary Approval) Act, 2011, <a href="mailto:approves">approves</a> the appointment of the following as Chairperson and Members of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission:
  - (i) Mr. Wanyonyi Wafula Chebukati Chairperson Amb. Dr. Paul Kibiwott Kurgat, PhD (ii) Member (iii) Mr. Boya Molu Member (iv) Prof. Abdi Guliye Member (v) Dr. Roselyn Kwamboka Akombe Member (vi) Ms. Margaret Wanjala Mwachanya Member Ms. Consolata Nkatha Bucha Maina (vii) Member

(Hon. Njoroge Baiya, Member, Departmental Committee on Justice and Legal Affairs)

(No. 142) (1204)

# 6. <u>PROCEDURAL MOTION</u> - <u>LIMITATION OF SPEAKING TIME ON</u> SPECIFIED MOTIONS

Motion made and Question proposed -

**THAT**, notwithstanding the resolution of the House of 10<sup>th</sup> February 2016 regarding limitation of speaking time during debates, this House further resolves that, during the Special Sittings of today, January 17, 2017, debate on the motions specified hereunder shall be limited as follows-

- (a) Motion for consideration of nominee for appointment as the Chairperson of the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission: A maximum of two (2) hours with not more than twenty (20) minutes for the Mover and five (5) minutes for each other Member speaking, including the Leader of the Majority Party and the Leader of the Minority Party, and that five (5) minutes before the expiry of the time, the Mover shall be called upon to reply, and further that priority in speaking shall be accorded to the Leader of the Majority Party and the Leader of the Minority Party in that order;
- (b) Motion for consideration of nominees for appointment as the Chairperson and Members of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission: A maximum of four hours with not more than thirty (30) minutes for the Mover and ten (10) minutes for each other Member speaking, except the Leader of the Majority Party and the Leader of the Minority Party, who shall be limited to a maximum of fifteen (15) minutes each, and that ten (10) minutes before the expiry of the time, the Mover shall be called upon to reply, and further that priority in speaking shall be accorded to the Leader of the Majority Party and the Leader of the Minority Party in that order.

(The Leader of the Majority Party)

There being no Members wishing to debate; Question put and agreed to.

And the time being ten O'clock, the Speaker adjourned the House pursuant to the Standing Orders.

7. **HOUSE ROSE** - at thirty minutes past Twelve O'clock

\_\_\_\_

(No. 142) (1205)

## M E M O R A N D U M

The Speaker will take the Chair on Tuesday, January 17, 2016 at 2.30 p.m.

--X--