(No.002)



First Session
Morning Sitting
(008)

#### REPUBLIC OF KENYA

### **ELEVENTH PARLIAMENT - (FIRST SESSION)**

#### THE SENATE

#### **ORDER PAPER**

## WEDNESDAY, APRIL 17, 2013 AT 9.00 AM

### **PRAYERS**

#### **Determination of Quorum**

- 1. Administration of Oath
- 2. Communication from the Chair
- 3. Messages
- 4. Petitions
- 5. Papers
- 6. Notices of Motion
- 7. Statements

## 8. PROCEDURAL MOTION – (The Senate Majority Leader)

**THAT**, pursuant to Standing Order 237 (1), the Senate orders that the Business appearing in today's Order Paper be exempted from the provisions of Standing Order No. 39(3), being a Wednesday Morning, a day allocated for motions or Bills not sponsored by the Majority or Minority Party or a Senator belonging to the Majority or Minority Party or a Committee.

| /MOTION |  |  |  |  |  |  |  |  |  |  |  |  |  |  |  | / | ľ | V | 1 | ( | ) | ٦ | Γ | ( | C | ) | r |
|---------|--|--|--|--|--|--|--|--|--|--|--|--|--|--|--|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|---------|--|--|--|--|--|--|--|--|--|--|--|--|--|--|--|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|

## 9. MOTION – (The Senate Majority Leader)

**THAT**, pursuant to Standing Order 174, the Senate approves the following Senators to be Members of the Rules and Business Committee:-

- 1. Sen. David Ekwee Ethuro- Speaker of the Senate- Chairperson
- 2. Sen. Kithure Kindiki Senate Majority Leader
- 3. Sen. Moses Wetangula Senate Minority Leader
- 4. Sen. Beatrice Elachi Senate Majority Whip
- 5. Sen. Johnson Muthama Senate Minority Whip
- 6. Sen. Beth Mugo
- 7. Sen. John Lonyangapuo
- 8. Sen. Charles Keter
- 9. Sen. Kiraitu Murungi
- 10. Sen. James Orengo
- 11. Sen. Janet Ong'era
- 12. Sen. Agnes Zani

(No.003)



First Session
Afternoon Sitting
(010)

#### REPUBLIC OF KENYA

### **ELEVENTH PARLIAMENT - (FIRST SESSION)**

#### THE SENATE

# ORDER PAPER

WEDNESDAY, APRIL 17, 2013 AT 2.30 PM

#### **PRAYERS**

#### **Determination of Quorum**

- 1. Administration of Oath
- 2. Communication from the Chair
- 3. Messages
- 4. Petitions
- 5. Papers
- 6. Notices of Motion
- 7. Statements

# 8. **PROCEDURAL MOTION** – (Senate Majority Leader)

**THAT**, pursuant to Standing Order 98 (1), the Senate resolves that debate on a Motion not sponsored by the Majority or Minority Party or a Senator belonging to the Majority or Minority Party or a Committee shall be limited in the following manner:-

A maximum of two hours with not more than fifteen minutes for the mover, fifteen minutes for the Majority Party Official Responder, fifteen minutes for the Minority Party Official Responder and ten minutes for each other Senator speaking and that ten minutes before the time expires, the mover shall be called upon to reply.

| <br>/Procedural | <b>Motion</b> |
|-----------------|---------------|
| <br>            |               |

## 9. **PROCEDURAL MOTION** – (Senate Majority Leader)

**THAT**, the debate on any motion for the adjournment of the Senate to a day other than the next normal sitting day in accordance with the calendar of the Senate shall be limited to a maximum of two hours with not more than five minutes for each Senator Speaking after which the Senate shall adjourn without question put.

## 10. **PROCEDURAL MOTION** – (Senate Majority Leader)

**THAT**, pursuant to Standing Order 98 (1), the Senate resolves that the debate on the motion on the Presidential Address shall be limited to a maximum of three sitting days with not more than fifteen minutes for each Senator speaking, excluding the mover in moving and replying who shall be limited to thirty minutes in either case and that the Senate Majority Leader and the Senate Minority Leader shall be limited to twenty minutes each.

## 11. **MOTION** – (Senate Majority Leader)- (First Day)

**THAT**, the Thanks of the Senate be recorded for the exposition of public policy contained in the Address of the President on the occasion of the opening of the Eleventh Parliament on Tuesday, 16<sup>th</sup> April, 2013.

| <br>_ | _ | _ | _ | _ | _ | _ | _ | _ | / | N | J | O | t | i | C | $\epsilon$ |
|-------|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|------------|

# **NOTICE**

## **LIMITATION OF DEBATE ON THE PRESIDENTIAL ADDRESS**

The Senate resolved on 17th April, 2013, as follows:-

**THAT**, debate on the motion on the Presidential Address shall be limited to a maximum of three sitting days, with not more than fifteen minutes for each Senator speaking, excluding the mover in moving and replying who shall be limited to thirty minutes in either case and the Senate Majority Leader and the Senate Minority Leader who shall be limited to twenty minutes each.

\_\_\_\_\_