

REPUBLIC OF KENYA 13[™] PARLIAMENT-FIRST SESSION (2022) THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

DEPARTMENTAL COMMITTEE ON FINANCE AND NATIONAL PLANNING

In the matter of Approval of persons nominated for appointment to the position of Members of the Commission on Revenue Allocation

NOTIFICATION OF THE GENERAL PUBLIC AND SUBMISSION OF MEMORANDA

WHEREAS, Article 215(2)(b) and (c) as read with Article 215(3) of the Constitution requires political parties represented in the National Assembly and the Senate to nominate two [2] and five [5] persons respectively, for appointment as members of the Commission on Revenue Allocation from among persons who are not Members of Parliament:

FURTHER WHEREAS pursuant to Article 215(2)(b) and (c) of the Constitution, on 25th and 26th November, 2022, the Speaker of the National Assembly received the names of qualified candidates nominated by the Leadership of the Majority and Minority Parties of the Houses of Parliament as hereunder: -

S/No.	Name	Party
	Under Article 215(2)(b)	
1.	Benedict Muasya Mutiso	Majority Party
2.	Wilfred Koitamet Olekina Nchoshoi	Minority Party
	Under Article 215(2)(c)	
3.	Jonas Misto Vincent Kuko	
4.	Dr. Isabel Nyambura Waiyaki	Majority Party
5.	Hadija Nganyi Juma	
6.	Dr. George Jalang'o Midiwo	Minority Dorty
7.	Hon. Fatuma Gedi Ali, CBS	Minority Party

NOTING THAT Article 250(2)(b) of the Constitution provides that "The chairperson and each member of a commission, and the holder of an independent office, shall be approved by the National Assembly".

FURTHER NOTING THAT section(3) of the Public Appointments (Parliamentary Approval Act (No. 33 of 2011) provides that "An appointment under the Constitution or any other law for which the approval of Parliament is required shall not be made unless the appointment is approved or deemed to have been approved by Parliament in accordance with this Act".

Notification of Approval Hearings

NOW THEREFORE:

Pursuant to the provisions of section 6(4) of the Public Appointments (Parliamentary Approval Act (No.33 of 2011), the **Departmental Committee on Finance and National Planning** hereby notifies the members of the public that it shall conduct Approval Hearings of the nominees for appointment to the position of Member of the Commission on Revenue Allocation on Monday, 5th December 2022 at the Mini Chamber, 1st Floor, County Hall, Parliament Buildings, Nairobi as per the following schedule: -

	NOMINEE	TIME
1.	Benedict Muasya Mutiso	10.00 a.m.
2.	Hon. Fatuma Gedi Ali, CBS	11.00 a.m.
3.	Dr. George Jalang'o Midiwo	12.00 Noon
4.	Hadija Nganyi Juma	2.00 p.m.
5.	Dr. Isabel Nyambura Waiyaki	3.00 p.m.
6.	Jonas Misto Vincent Kuko	4.00 p.m.
7.	Wilfred Koitamet Ole Kina Nchoshoi	5.00 p.m.

The nominees should bring the originals of their identity cards, academic and professional certificates, and other relevant testimonials. In addition, the nominees are required to obtain letters/certificates of compliance from the following institutions: -

- Ethics and Anti-corruption Commission:
- Kenya Revenue Authority;
- 2. 3. Higher Education Loans Board:
- Directorate of Criminal Investigations; and
- Office of the Registrar of political Parties.

Public Participation and Submission of Memoranda

The Committee is required under Article 118(1)(b) of the Constitution to facilitate public participation in the approval hearings of the nominees. In addition, section 6(9) of the Public Appointments (Parliamentary Approval) Act (No.33 of 2011 provides that "any person may prior to the approval hearing and by written statement on oath, provide the Clerk with evidence contesting the suitability of a candidate to hold the office to which the nominee has been nominated."

B. In compliance with Article 118(1)(b) of the Constitution and section 6(9) of the Public Appointments (Parliamentary Approval) Act (No.33 of 2011, the Committee invites interested members of the Public to submit any representations they may have by way of written statements on oath (affidavits) with supporting evidence contesting the suitability of any of the nominees for appointment to the office of a member of the Commission on Revenue Allocation under Article 215(2)(b) and (c) of the Constitution.

The representations may be forwarded to the Clerk of the National Assembly, P.O. Box 41842-00100, Nairobi; hand-delivered to the Office of the Clerk, Main Parliament Buildings, Nairobi; or emailed to <u>cna@parliament.go.ke</u>; to be received on or before Friday, 2nd December 2022 at 5.00 pm.

> **SAMUEL NJOROGE CLERK OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY**

> > 26th November 2022