

REPUBLIC OF KENYA

THIRTEENTH PARLIAMENT - (FIRST SESSION)

THE SENATE

ORDER PAPER SPECIAL SITTING

TUESDAY, DECEMBER 20, 2022 AT 2:30 PM

PRAYER

- 1. Administration of Oath
- 2. Communication from the Chair
- 3. Messages (as listed in the Appendix)
- 4. Petitions
- 5. Papers
- 6. Notices of Motion (as listed in the Appendix)
- 7. Statements

8. <u>MOTION - ESTABLISHMENT OF A SELECT COMMITTEE TO</u> <u>INVESTIGATE AND REPORT ON THE PROPOSED REMOVAL FROM</u> <u>OFFICE, BY IMPEACHMENT, OF HONOURABLE KAWIRA MWANGAZA,</u> <u>THE GOVERNOR OF MERU COUNTY</u>

(The Senate Majority Leader)

THAT, WHEREAS, pursuant to Article 181 of the Constitution and Section 33 of the County Governments Act, on 14th December, 2022, the Meru County Assembly approved a Motion to remove from office, by impeachment, Honourable Kawira Mwangaza, the Governor of Meru County;

AND FURTHER, WHEREAS by a letter Ref. No. CAM/RES/VOL.V/2, dated 15th December, 2022, received in the Office of the Speaker of the Senate on Thursday, 15th December, 2022, the Speaker of the Meru County Assembly informed the Speaker of the Senate of the approval of the Motion by the County Assembly and further forwarded to the Speaker of the Senate, documents in evidence of the proceedings of the Assembly;

...../Motion

AND WHEREAS, pursuant to section 33(3)(b) of the County Governments Act, and Standing Order 80(1)(b) of the Senate, the Senate by resolution, may appoint a special committee comprising eleven of its Members to investigate the matter;

NOW THEREFORE, pursuant to section 33(3)(b) of the County Governments Act, and Standing Order 80(1)(b), the Senate resolves to establish a special committee comprising the following Senators: -

- 1. Sen. (Dr.) Boni Khalwale, CBS, MP;
- 2. Sen. Jackson Mandago, EGH, MP;
- 3. Sen. Karungo Thangwa, MP;
- 4. Sen. Esther Okenyuri, MP;
- 5. Sen. Roba Ali Ibrahim, EGH, MP;
- 6. Sen. Peris Tobiko, MP;
- 7. Sen. Eddy Gicheru Oketch, MP;
- 8. Sen. Joseph Githuku Kamau, MP;
- 9. Sen. Edwine Sifuna, MP;
- 10. Sen. Agnes Kavindu Muthama, MP; and
- 11. Sen. Johnes Mwaruma, MP.

to investigate the proposed removal from office of the Governor of Meru County and pursuant to standing order 80 (2), to report to the Senate, within ten (10) days of its appointment, on whether or not it finds the particulars of the allegations against the Governor to have been substantiated.

--XXX--

...../Appendix

APPENDIX

1. MESSAGE

Message from the Meru County Assembly on the proposed removal from office, by impeachment, of the Honourable Kawira Mwangaza, the Governor of Meru County.

(The Speaker of the Senate)

2. <u>NOTICE OF MOTION - ESTABLISHMENT OF A SELECT COMMITTEE TO</u> <u>INVESTIGATE AND REPORT ON THE PROPOSED REMOVAL FROM</u> <u>OFFICE, BY IMPEACHMENT, OF HONOURABLE KAWIRA MWANGAZA,</u> <u>THE GOVERNOR OF MERU COUNTY</u>

(The Senate Majority Leader)

THAT, WHEREAS, pursuant to Article 181 of the Constitution and Section 33 of the County Governments Act, on 14th December, 2022, the Meru County Assembly approved a Motion to remove from office, by impeachment, Honourable Kawira Mwangaza, the Governor of Meru County;

AND FURTHER, WHEREAS by a letter Ref. No. CAM/RES/VOL.V/2, dated 15th December, 2022, received in the Office of the Speaker of the Senate on Thursday, 15th December, 2022, the Speaker of the Meru County Assembly informed the Speaker of the Senate of the approval of the Motion by the County Assembly and further forwarded to the Speaker of the Senate, documents in evidence of the proceedings of the Assembly;

AND WHEREAS, pursuant to section 33(3)(b) of the County Governments Act, and Standing Order 80(1)(b) of the Senate, the Senate by resolution, may appoint a special committee comprising eleven of its Members to investigate the matter;

NOW THEREFORE, pursuant to section 33(3)(b) of the County Governments Act, and Standing Order 80(1)(b), the Senate resolves to establish a special committee comprising the following Senators: -

- 1. Sen. (Dr.) Boni Khalwale, CBS, MP;
- 2. Sen. Jackson Mandago, EGH, MP;
- 3. Sen. Karungo Thangwa, MP;
- 4. Sen. Esther Okenyuri, MP;
- 5. Sen. Roba Ali Ibrahim, EGH, MP;
- 6. Sen. Peris Tobiko, MP;
- 7. Sen. Eddy Gicheru Oketch, MP;
- 8. Sen. Joseph Githuku Kamau, MP;
- 9. Sen. Edwine Sifuna, MP;
- 10. Sen. Agnes Kavindu Muthama, MP; and
- 11. Sen. Johnes Mwaruma, MP.

...../Appendix

TUESDAY, DECEMBER 20, 2022

to investigate the proposed removal from office of the Governor of Meru County and pursuant to standing order 80 (2), to report to the Senate, within ten (10) days of its appointment, on whether or not it finds the particulars of the allegations against the Governor to have been substantiated.

--XXX--