Skip to main content

Committee on Appointments

The Committee on Appointments is established under the provisions of S.O. No. 204. It consists of the Speaker as a Chairperson, the Deputy Speaker, the Leader of the Majority Party, the Leader of the Minority party, the Deputy Leader of the Majority Party, the Deputy Leader of the Minority party and not more than twenty two other Members nominated by the House Business Committee, on the basis of proportional Party Membership in the House taking into consideration the numerical strength of the Parties and interests of Independent Members. Its membership is appointed by the House.


The Committee on Appointments is appointed within seven days on assembly of a new House and serves for a period of three years and that appointed thereafter shall serve for the remainder of the term of the Assembly

In the absence of the Speaker, the Committee elects a member, from among st its members to chair the meeting.

The Committee on Appointments considers, for approval by the House, appointments under Articles 152(2) (Cabinet secretaries).

The quorum of the Committee on Appointments is one half of the Members of the Committee, but the Speaker is not counted for the purposes of quorum and does not vote.